Halloween

10484175063_856b121cca_o
Photo ©2013 by Kevin Dooley [CC-by-2.0]
Throughout campus, there were several Halloween-themed activities, such as the Trunk or Treat event and the creepy maze that the theater class assembled, to encourage the Halloween spirit.

Halloween is just around the corner, and I have yet to choose what I am going to do that night.

Perhaps I’ll stay home and work on homework and upcoming assignments like I did for the past ten Halloweens or so. Or maybe I’ll participate in trick or treating with a group of friends because accepting free candy is definitely a pleasant way to end the spooky night.

I wonder how this idea of ghosts, goblins, witches, and other supernatural creatives roaming the Earth came to be. It doesn’t seem like an ancient religious ritual, but if it is, from which country did it originate?

And why do Americans continue celebrate this holiday? Especially since many unfortunate events have occurred because of this festivity. (Kids receiving apples with razors, candy laced with drugs, etc.)

Even though obtaining free food may seem tempting, I think the act of taking from strangers is something to avoid. In fact, as children, many of us have been taught to never accept anything from people we don’t know, so why do parents allow their children to go door to door to ask for candy?

Now that I’ve thought about it, I’ve realized that I’m not going to go trick or treating despite my youthful days slowly coming to an end. I’ll simply spend that night doing a different Halloween activity: watching spooky movies while eating junk food.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

