How Piano Influenced Me

3284752267_8cddedd43e_o
Photo ©2009 by Riley Kaminer [CC-by-2.0]
I’ve been playing piano for nearly 11 years now, I can honestly say that it’s been a large part of my life.

When I first started, I didn’t like the instrument at all, mostly because I wasn’t interested in music and my parents continued to force me to practice every week. My songs didn’t seem fun to play since I was impatient with myself, and I wasn’t motivated to pursue a passion in music.

I’d try to avoid practicing piano by spending more time on schoolwork or reading books for hours on end. However, I’d soon find myself sitting at the piano with an extremely bored look on my face. This continued for about seven years until I realized that I could use piano as something to add to my college application.

It was then that I decided that I’d put more effort and participate in yearly piano exams, such as the Certificate of Merit and some Auditions program that occurs in the summer. I always downplayed my efforts in piano because I’m surrounded by talented pianists who’ve been in national competitions and won.

This changed when my the evaluators in my piano exams praised my piano playing, and I was delighted that my efforts were recognized. This delight has led to my own enthusiasm in piano and a better appreciation for the instrument.

Comments are closed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

